Babyface: Wrestling and Romance – FREE New Adult & College Short Read Offer

An excerpt from “Babyface: Steal the Show”:

“Mr. Foley,” Lucy begged the man’s attention, “I’m Lucy Dowd, sir. You knew my uncle, Lucky.”

“And I knew you too,” Foley said, stepping back, “the pig-tailed kid always bouncing around that ring in Burlington, every time I was booked there. Wow— look at ya!”

“My uncle still speaks well of you, sir. I’m trained by him, and I’m looking for work.”

“Now, sweetheart, I…”

“It’s Lucy, sir; and I’m good. If there’s a spot on your show, I’d love to prove it.”

“You got your uncle’s confidence.”

“His dropkick too, sir.” Foley softened, taking the liking to her that most old-timers did, but told her he didn’t have another female for her to work. “I’ll wrestle anyone, sir.”

“It’s Foley,” he said, “an’ I’m sorry Lucy, but I ain’t putting a gal in the ring with a man, least-of-all the niece o’ Lucky Dowd.”

“I understand,” Lucy told him. “Thanks anyway, Foley. I won’t take any more of your time.”

“How far you come to hear me tell you no,” Foley asked her, again taking Lucy in, head-to-toe.

“King’s Mountain,” Lucy told him, holding her breath that Foley might reconsider.

   “Stick around, alright, stay for the show. I can’t put you on, but… let’s just see.”

Copyright 2016 © Charles LeoGrande

Author: Charles LeoGrande

Charles LeoGrande was born in New York but his pro wrestling travels have taken him throughout the Northeast, the Carolinas, Puerto Rico and Japan. "Green" is his first novella and the "Babyface: Wrestling and Romance" novelettes are LeoGrande's first-published short-stories. LeoGrande is at work on the next installment of the "Babyface" series and the follow-up to "Green", a second novella titled "Near Fall".

Leave a comment